In the Land of Pharaohs and Slaves

Imagine, if you can, my profound joy on planning a trip to one of the world’s ancient civilization; discovering what life was like in the land of the kings and queens, the magic of mummification to the Nile and Nefertiti! Imagine also with what excitement my face glowed as we sped towards the Travelers Hotel on the cold morning of December 4th 2016. It was some minutes to 4:00 am.

As I sat in the cab catching the breathtaking sites of downtown Cairo, I left my taxi driver to rumble on his welcome greetings. I remember though that at one point he did stop and bought mango juice for my friend and I; his signature welcome symbol. On a side note, Egypt has the tastiest mango juice I’ve ever had in my life!

I will update my day trips in subsequent posts. In the meanwhile, enjoy a couple of pictures on the Great Pyramids and Sphinx of Giza.

img_20161204_152913
Trying to get a panoramic view of the pyramids but in vain. Also, it was sweltering hot. According to history, the Step Pyramid at Saqqara was the first and was built for the Pharaoh Djoser
img_20161204_155511
Up, close and click!
img_20161204_153243
You never get out of here until you’ve tried one of the many classic pyramid poses.
img_20161204_162100
The Great Sphinx of Giza which was built in 2500 BC and whose construction was ordered by the Pharaoh Khafra. Btw, have you yet heard the great riddle of the Sphinx?
img_20161204_162542
A symbol of divine power, the Sphinx’s lion body is associated with the Sun-god Ra.

Till the next post, I’m over and out.

Leave a Reply

